Category Archives: About

In 38 years, I’ve acquired two degrees, lived in three states, married one man, birthed two daughters, owned one pet, and spent countless hours thinking about what is for dinner.  Truth be told, I’m a little obsessive about it and it’s nothing to be proud of!  But that said, I am a very proud and enthusiastic home cook!  By profession, I am a high school history teacher.  I spent years teaching United States History and World History but a few years ago I set that aside in the interest of my family.

Photo Credit: Grogan Studios

Photo Credit: Grogan Studios

I love being home with my kids.  As every stay at home Mom knows, it is a busy life, but busy in a different way than working — volunteer work, play dates, cooking, cleaning, trips to and from preschool and elementary school, long days home with sick kids, lots of coloring books and crafts, card games, homework…..  I know I am doing good work, day in and day out, but sometimes I wonder what I have to show for it (except of course two lovely, intelligent, fairly well adjusted kids).  I must admit that I have a nagging need to be physically productive each and every day – to have something to “show for it.”  I think this is why I love to cook a great meal for my family.

Ten random things about me:

1. I am born and bred in Columbus, Ohio 5 minutes from The Ohio State University — went to the University of Michigan for undergrad (if you live in the midwest you know what this means!).  Found my way back to OSU for grad school….

2. I spent three wonderful years in San Diego, California (Oceanside and then Hillcrest/Mission Hills) with my husband prior to having children — phenomenal experience!  El Cuervo’s breakfast burrito is, hands down, the best in the business!!!

3. If I could dine with anyone living or dead?  No question about it….Abraham Lincoln!

4. I lived and studied in Florence, Italy while I was in college. No joke I gained about 10 lbs while I was there.  My favorite food memories from Italy….Aqua Al Due Ristorante in Florence, Pasta Arrabiata, Prosciutto and Blood Oranges.

5. I’m 1/4 Italian but I like to think that I’m more!

6. I have IBS (irritable bowel syndrome) which affects approximately 15% of the general population.  My stomach cannot handle white flour…..and if I avoid it, I generally have no problems (my husband and I started eating whole wheat pasta years before it became fashionable). A plain white bagel is my nemesis!

7. I’m pretty domestic but I don’t sew and I hate to iron.

8. I have synthesia….my brain associates every letter, number, day of the week and month with a very specific color — the colors have remained the same since I was a child.  It’s odd but useful once in a while.

9. I have a very needy but loving 10 year old cat named Archie (any true Buckeye can figure out why we named him Archie).

10. I have a fantastic family and I married into a fantastic family!  I am appreciative every day for my support system.